San Antonio Parent Reveals Shocking Conversation with School District

San Antonio Parent Reveals Shocking Conversation with School District

This was in an email that I received from a concerned parent whose child has dyslexia. She has tried to go through all of hoops that the school has given her in order to get the proper help for her child. She is almost in Middle School and have not taken any steps yet to identify a problem that has been going on since 1st Grade:

My, has it been overwhelming dealing with a broken school system. We were scheduled to have an RTI meeting to close out on Tier 3 on Wednsday but to no surprise i was not contacted til late afternoon on Tuesday that it had been cancelled. The counselor apologized stating that it was an oversight. We still did have a 504 meeting to discuss accomodations based on her ADD. Boy am I frustrated!!! i contacted the dyslexia coordinator myself and talked with her im expecting to hear back from her soon as to what she thinks about the school results and the report from Leslie. : ) I have decided that my next step is to contact the superintendent and media if needed. Its no holds barred for me at this point especially after the counselor told me that they would just test her for special ed. after our next RTI meeting. He also said that when they do that testing they have 90 days to do it so that puts us in the month of April. (almost end up school year) The ending of the counselors talk was “hopefully we should be able to figure something out by the time she is leaving us for middle school” Who says this! I was floored and composed myself long enough to get to my car and cry my eyes out. I am just dumbfounded at the schools inablility to understand that my baby girl needs help. They just don’t care is how i feel.

What parents have to go through to get help from the school system is just not fair! I understand that schools need to have procedures, and that they have a limited budget. I also know that there are hundreds of frustrated teachers out there who want to help, but can’t. It’s about time that administrators are honest and frank with parents so that they can get the help they need elsewhere, if the school cannot provide it. Have you had a similar experience with your child’s school?

If this has been your experience, you are NOT alone.

Visit www.learningfoundations.com/parents  or call (210) 495-2626 to see how you can get help for your struggling child.

One thought on “San Antonio Parent Reveals Shocking Conversation with School District

  1. Wow you could not have said it better. My son has ADHD and gets no help what so ever. My husband is attending all his classes on Mon. I am sure they will not be happy about this. I have gone to the schools almost everyday. I have told the teacher if yo are too lazy to get up out of your chair, just to tap my son on his shoulder then please sit him next to you. With ADHD you can get distracted by a whisper. It’s not his fault. He needs someone to focus him again then all is good. I am sick of these schools all they care about is money and that’s it. The children mean nothing at all to them. I wish more people would speak out. These are our children, our life and our world. How many people out there really care? Please let’s all speak out. It sure can’t hurt.

Leave a Reply

